Sewing Retreat Report

It’s  hard to believe that a week ago I was in Meredith NH for a three day sewing retreat run by Nashua Sew & Vac. I brought scads of projects and got nearly that much done while I was there

Friday was the first day of sewing and we were set up with machines running by 11am. I started off slow with a white knit racer back pajama tank top and then a draped neck sleeveless top. Both were made from the same white tee shirt knit from my stash. Neither are incredible but both were easy and gave me a chance to work out issues with my bernina and the serger. About 1.75 yards went into those two projects.

Next in  line was a pair of pajama pants… your basic full leg, elastic waist, printed cotton. The cotton in this case was an odd green and brown floral/animal print that I had intended to use as a cover for my cutting table. Unfortunately it really clashed… but who cares when it’s jammie fabric!! 2ish yards went into the making of those pants.

Somewhere along the way was a pizza break for dinner and then I got started on one of the dresses I brought – the green boucle sheath with tan bemberg lining. It went together pretty easily and I enjoyed taking my time and doing everything by the book. Lots of serging along the way on that one since the fabric frayed like crazy. I had it finished except for the hem when I tried it on for the first time on Saturday afternoon. Eek…. my hips are even wider than I admitted to myself when  cutting everything out. Luckily there was just enough room to let the skirt out a tad. Stockings would have helped too.

Anyway, that dressmaking lasted well in to Friday night and then most of the day on Saturday. However, in the end, the fit was great and having spent so much time hand finishing the details was worth it. And  chalk up 2.25 more yards sewn up from my stash!

The rest of the report will have to wait… I made a pair of jeans today and now my brain is tired! Photos and the rest of the report tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

